Skip to main content
< back to


TG4 Welcome the Appointment of New Members to the TG4 Board


Catherine Martin, TD, Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media (Wednesday 20th March 2024) confirmed the appointment of new members to the Boards of RTÉ and TG4.
Confirming the appointments, Minister Martin said:
“At its meeting today, Government approved the appointment of two new members to each of the Boards of RTÉ and TG4. On behalf of the Government, I would like to wish all four new members the very best of luck as they undertake a very important role in supporting public service broadcasting in Ireland.”
Noreen O’Kelly and Shirley Bradshaw have been appointed to the Board of RTÉ, while Muireann Ní Chíobháin and Éamonn Ó hÁrgáin have been appointed to the Board of TG4.
Referring to the appointments to the Board of TG4, Minster Martin commented:
“Both Muireann and Éamonn have extensive experience which will benefit the Board of TG4 as it continues to not only grow the delivery of high quality content to its audiences, but also in its role in supporting the wider efforts to promote and sustain the use of Irish in our everyday lives.”

Note for Editors

Appointments to both Boards are made in accordance with the provisions of Section 81 of the Broadcasting Act 2009.

Muireann Ní Chíobháin

Muireann Ní Chíobháin is a children’s author (Irish and English lanugages), screenwriter and performer. She has worked with both TG4 and RTÉ including serving as Young People Commissioning Editor (Cúla 4) from December 2022 to December 2023. She has also contributed as creator, writer and story editor on a number of children’s television projects on both RTÉ and TG4. Muireann is also a children’s author, her works include: Gealach agus Grian (November 2023); Wild Wonders (November 2023); Murphy’s Law (O’Brien Press – 2022); Eoinín (Futa Fata Éire 2021, 2022); GIY’s Know-It-ALLmanac (GIY Books, Ireland 2019).

Éamonn Ó hÁrgáin

Éamonn Ó hÁrgáin is President of Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann and he worked for 21 years with Foras na Gaeilge as a Director and Board Secretary; prior to which he worked as a manager and Secretary to the Board with Bord na Gaeilge. Éamonn is Chair of the Advisory Committee on the Irish Language in Kerry County Council and is a member of the Monitoring Committee on the Irish Language in An Garda Síochána.


Media Contact in TG4:
Áine Lally | TG4 Communications Manager |

Get to know us: